Passing on the Kunqu Art: From Master to Disciples

Date: April 19, 2015
Time: 2:00pm
Location: Miller Theatre at Columbia University (2960 Broadway, New York, NY 10027)

On Sunday, April 19, 2015, 2 p.m. This Kunqu Society performance introduces four signature plays of Kunqu Master Jiqing Zhang to American audiences: “A Maddening Dream,” an episode from “Ballad of The Rotten-Ax Mountain”, “A Stroll in the Garden,” “An Interrupted Dream,” and “Dreamland Revisited,” three episodes from “The Peony Pavilion” (by Xianzu Tang in 1598 A.D.)

Performers: Ms. Fang Wang, Master Jiqing Zhang’s disciple, Plum Blossom Award winner; Mr. Jiulin Yu, Plum Blossom Award winner; Ms. Yuxian Weng; and other outstanding Kunqu artists from Suzhou Kunqu Opera Institute, Suzhou, China.

Check out the at Miller Theater.

This entry was posted in Calendar. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.