长生殿

《长生殿》为清代戏剧家洪升根据白居易《长恨歌》及民间故事《唐明皇游月宫》所编写,排场恢宏,气氛凝炼,是广为流传丶影响深远的传统名剧。

《长生殿》写西蜀杨玉环,有倾国倾城之姿和能歌善舞之才,受唐明皇的宠爱,敕封为贵妃,两人恩爱。由於明皇日夜歌舞宴乐,忽略朝政,并重用贵妃贪渎弄权的哥哥杨国忠为丞相,又宠信心怀不轨的番将安禄山,以致民怨日深。天宝年间,禄山举兵造反,叛军进逼长安。明皇与贵妃匆匆逃往西蜀,途中六军喧哗,要求诛杀祸首,先杀国忠,後逼得贵妃自缢。叛乱平定以後,明皇虽然安然无恙,但追悔莫及,终日思念贵妃,命术士上穷碧落下黄泉,寻觅贵妃的魂魄。月宫娘娘嫦娥被明皇的真诚所感动,让明皇与贵妃在一月明之夜月宫重逢,再续前缘。

<定情>

〈定情〉写唐明皇太平致治,机务之馀寄情声色,选召佳丽入宫,众美之中独为杨玉环之姿才所倾倒,敕封为贵妃。两人以金钗丶钿盒,定下偕老之盟。

〈絮阁〉

〈絮阁〉写唐明皇一夕托疾,夜宿翠华西阁,密召旧爱梅妃。次日清晨杨贵妃赶至阁中,一番娇嗔怨怒,让明皇深感她情深妒真,道歉赔罪,两人重修旧好。

〈小宴〉

〈小宴〉为〈惊变〉的前半折,描写明皇和贵妃在御花园中饮酒作乐。贵妃载歌载舞,为明皇歌唱诗仙李白所写清平词。明皇大乐,开怀畅饮,贵妃终不胜酒力,回宫寝息。

〈惊变〉

〈惊变〉写唐明皇和杨贵妃在御花园饮酒作乐,贵妃为明皇歌舞,深得明皇欢心。贵妃因不胜酒力,回宫安寝,丞相杨国忠突然觐见,告知安禄山造反,叛军已逼近长安。明皇仓促下令,次日清晨即往西蜀避难。

〈埋玉〉

〈惊变〉写唐明皇一行西蜀避难,途中暂歇马嵬驿亭,六军愤怨,鼓噪不前,先怒杀杨国忠,并誓言不杀杨贵妃丶不肯护驾。军士逼迫之下,明皇失了主张,贵妃请允自缢,将金钗丶钿盒交付高力士,命丧梨树之下。明皇哀痛难舍,无奈叛军逼近,只能仓卒前行。

Comments are closed.

The Palace of Eternal Youth

The Palace of Eternal Youth (1688) by Sheng Hong (1645-1704), a kunqu classic, weaves an epic tale of political corruption, military revolt, and social unrest into the love story of Emperor Minghuang and Lady Yang.

Known for her beauty and artistic talents, Lady Yang is favored by Minghuang who indulges himself in the leisure and pleasures of Lady Yang’s companionship, neglecting his duties and responsibilities as a political leader. He appoints Guozhong Yang, Lady Yang’s brother, as Prime Minister and grants him and Lushan An, an ambitious general, so much power and privilege that Lushan gains enough force and influence to stage a military coup. Unaware of the coup, Minghuang is absorbed in song and drink with Lady Yang when Lushan approaches the capital. Fleeing in haste, Minghuang is protected by his imperial guards who, in a furor, kill Guozhong and demand the death of Lady Yang, for they two are deemed responsible for the coup and societal tumult. Minghuang, though unwilling and in anguish, consents and allows Lady Yang to commit suicide. After the coup is appeased, Minghuang returns to the capital with much remorse and grief, longing for Lady Yang. Helped by the Moon Goddess, they are eventually reunited as Minghuang visits and meets her one night at the moon palace.

The Pledging of Love

In The Pledging of Love, Minghuang, in a time of peace and prosperity, indulges himself in leisure and pleasure. Among the countless beauties chosen for the court, he is especially struck by the beauty and talent of Yang Yuhuan, whom he makes his consort and names her Lady Yang. Minghuang and Lady Yang pledge eternal love, with a gold pin and a jewel box as their witness.

Chamber of Frivolous Commotions

Chamber of Frivolous Commotions portrays Lady Yang’s unannounced visit to Minghuang the morning after he secretly summoned his former favorite consort for an overnight tryst. Through a series of arias, Yang conveys her anger, frustration, self-pity, and sadness, an expression of devotion which eventually leads Minghuang to admit his infidelity and resume his favor for her.

A Banquet for Two

A Banquet for Two is the first part of “Startled by Rebellions” and depicts the drinking and singing merriments of Minghuang and Lady Yang before Minghuang is made aware of Lushan’s military coup. Greatly pleased by Mady Yang’s singing and dancing, Minghuang urges her to drink more than she can handle. In a total stupor, Lady Yang is carried off to rest.

Startled by Rebellions

Startled by Rebellions begins with the Minghuang and Lady Yang drinking and singing in merriment. After the drunken lady is led away to rest, Yang Guozhong the Prime Minister hurries in to report An Lushan’s mutiny. In haste, Minghuang orders the court to depart for theWestern Shuregion the next morning.

Jade Buried

Jade Buried depicts the entourage of Minghuang resting temporarily at the station of the Ma Wei County while fleeing to the Western Shu region. The court guards, in great furor and clamor, kill Yang Guozhong and demand the death of Lady Yang before they will agree to continue the journey. Seeing Minghuang caught in much distress and anguish, Lady Yang begs to be allowed to end her life for the good of the country. She leaves the pin and box with Gao Lishi, a trusted eunuch, and hangs herself from a pear tree. Minghuang, heart-broken, is pressed to resume the journey.

Comments are closed.