海外昆曲社由昆曲爱好者所共同创办,以研究丶保存丶传扬昆曲艺术为宗旨。这些喜爱昆曲的曲人除了参与演出,并且负责曲社的行政与制作工作,也是台下昆曲忠诚的支持观众。

陈安娜

毕业于台湾师范大学国文研究所,主修中国古典戏曲。从师事戏曲大师吴梅的著名学者汪经昌学习戏曲理论,并从昆曲名家张元和、张充和、周铨庵,以及著名昆曲表演艺术家史洁华、张继青、张静娴、梁谷音、乐漪萍等学习唱曲及表演。着有《马致远研究》、《桃花扇传奇研究》等论文,并担任北京昆曲研习社音乐学者谢锡恩《中国戏曲的艺术形式》一书编辑。 1997年起担任海外昆曲社社长。

陈富烟

民族音乐学学者。1976年获Westleyan University民族音乐学博士学位。曾在 《亚洲音乐学报》等学术性刊物上发表昆曲和戏曲的研究论文。1988年与陈安娜、黄锦、邓玉琼、钱宁娜、李林德等创立海外昆曲社。从1988年到1996年担任社长。依法立案,广招人才,将昆曲社发展为美国地区最具规模的昆曲研习和表演的文化艺术团体,有师资雄厚的昆曲传习班,更有行当齐全的纽约昆剧团。他所制作的大型昆剧表演除《潘金莲》外,尚有1997年的《春草闯堂》、1994年的《昭君出塞》、《昆曲之美》以及六十多个昆曲演出和演讲示范。

张充和

张充和女士出身名门,是耶鲁大学历史教授金安平女士所着《合肥四姐妹》中的“小四妹”。十八岁时(1931年)开始从昆曲传字辈大师沈传芷丶张传芳及昆曲名宿陆诵谟丶吴南菁等学习并表演昆曲。抗战时期,经常在成都丶重庆等地为文化教育机构登台义演。1949年移居美国,与夫婿著名汉学家傅汉思教授“妇唱夫随”,先后在美国丶加拿大二十多个大学及文化机构举办讲座示范,传扬昆曲艺术。1962年以后,张充和女士受聘耶鲁大学艺术学院,教授中国书法,指导文学院学生中国诗词及戏曲论文,并在家中传授昆曲唱念表演及吹笛。在漫长的八十二年里,无论身处何地,即使是在旅途之中,张充和女士始终是曲不离口,笔不离手,以唱曲丶写字为乐,是当今中国最有盛誉的曲家和书法家。

叶婉之

毕业于台湾中兴大学,主修中国文学。自幼喜爱古典戏曲,曾从京剧和昆曲名家学习唱腔和身段表演。来美后先后加入业余平剧社和昆曲社,擅演青衣和正旦戏。嗓音甜美,表演沉稳大方。多年负责曲社财务,并协助後台服装化妆工作。

Comments are closed.

Experienced Amateur Practitioners

The founding of Kunqu Society was made possible by a group of experienced amateur practitioners who appreciated kunu and deemed it important to establish an organization in order to study, preserve, and promote the art form. They participate in the society’s programs not only as performers on stage, but also as administrators behind the scene and devoted kunqu supporters in the audience.

Chen Wu, Anna

A graduate of National Taiwan Normal University with a M.A. in Chinese classical literature specialized in yuanqu and kunqu, Ms. Wu had been a Chinese language teacher for over 40 years, and from 1981 to 2002 she served as Head-Teacher of the Chinese Language Program at the United Nations. Besides teaching Chinese language, Ms. Wu is devoted to the studying, preserving and promoting kunqu in the United States. She has written extensively on classical Chinese theatre, and is the editor of the book, The Arts of the Chinese Classical Theater. Ms. Wu is also a performer of the young refined female role type. She has been the President of the Kunqu Society since 1997.

Chen, Fu-yen

Founding President of the Society (1988-1996), ethnomusicologist (Wesleyan University, Ph.D., 1976), and a Woodrow Wilson National Fellow (1971-1972), Mr. Chen is the architect and leader in establishing the Society as a leading kunqu cultural-arts organization, serving the patrons and communities of the arts in the New York, New England and Mid-Atlantic regions of the United States.  He was the producer of many of the Society’s major public programs, such as The Beauty of the Kunqu Opera (1994), Lady Glory’s Trek to the North (1994), Spring-Grass (1997), and Pan Chin-lien (1999).

Frankel, Chung-ho Chang

From a prominent family, Mrs. Frankel is the “little fourth sister” in the book Four Sisters of Hofei written by Annping Chin, history professor at Yale University. Mrs. Frankel began her study and performance of kunqu in 1931 with kunqu masters Chuanzhi Shen and Chuanfang Zhang and renowned practitioners Yongmo Lu and Nanjing Wu. During the anti-Japan war period, Mrs. Frankel participated in charity performances held at cultural institutions in cities such as Chengdu and Chongqing. In 1949 Mrs. Frankel relocated to the U.S. With the support of her husband, the late Hans H. Frankel, a well-known Chinese literature scholar, they held lectures and demonstrations in more than twenty educational and cultural institutions in the U.S. and Canada to introduce and promote the kunqu art. Beginning in 1962 Mrs. Frankel was appointed to teach Chinese calligraphy at the Yale School of Art and advise students of the arts and sciences on their theses about Chinese poetry and theatre. She also offered lessons at home on kunqu singing and performance and Chinese flute. In eighty two years, no matter where she is, even during travel, Mrs. Frankel continues to practice kunqu and calligraphy that bring her much joy. She is the most famed kunqu practitioner and calligrapher in the Chinese world.

Yeh, Wan-chih

A graduate from National Taiwan Chung-hsing University majoring in classical Chinese literature, Ms. Yeh is a talented kunqu performer of female roles. She is also an experienced jingju performer. She was Treasurer of the Society and has assisted with costumes backstage in many of the Society’s productions.

Comments are closed.